Use Internet2 SiteID

Already have an Internet2 SiteID?
Sign in here.

Internet2 SiteID


Congratulations to 2011 IDEA Award Winners!

Posted on Oct 01, 2011 by Meredith Lovelace
Tags: Community-Driven Innovation

Internet2 congratulates the two research and two student projects that were named 2011 Internet2 IDEA Award winners for innovation in advanced network applications for collaborative research and education. Winners received their awards, and presented their applications at the recent Fall Member Meeting.

Researcher winners Scott Deal from Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, and Matthew Burtner from the University of Virginia won for Auksalaq--a Telematic Opera. Also, a team from the Department of Energy’s Energy Sciences Network (ESnet) at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory won for their application, On-Demand Secure Circuits and Advance Reservation System (OSCARS). ESnet development collaborators include Chin Guok, Evangelos Chaniotakis, Andy Lake, Eric Pouyoul and Mary Thompson.

The IDEA student winners are Baris Aksanli, a Ph.D. student in computer science and engineering from the University of California San Diego, for Monitoring and Visualization of Energy consumed by Networks (MAVEN), and Kyung- Hwa Kim, a Ph.D. student in computer science from Columbia University, for DYSWIS, a Collaborative Network Fault Diagnosis System project.