Use Internet2 SiteID

Already have an Internet2 SiteID?
Sign in here.

Internet2 SiteID

Your organization not listed? Create a local account to use Internet2 services.

Create SiteID


Internet2 Issues Call for 2012 Richard Rose Award Nominees

Posted on Feb 27, 2012 by Doug Howell
Tags: Advanced Networking, CAP, imported, Internet2 Annual Meetings, K20 Education, K20 Initiative, Teaching and Learning

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- February 27, 2012 – Internet2 today announced its call for nominations for the 2012 Richard Rose Award. The annual award, established in 2009, recognizes outstanding individual efforts aimed at extending the benefits of advanced networking to the education community. The award will be presented at the Spring 2012 Internet2 Member Meeting in Arlington, Virginia to be held April 22-25, 2012. Nominations will be accepted until March 26, 2012.

Rose was the executive director of the University of Maryland Academic Telecommunications System and USM Office IT. Rose (1947–2007) played an early and influential leadership role in Internet2's K20 Initiative, whose mission is to close the digital divide by bringing together Internet2’s advanced network and research university members with innovators from the nation's colleges, primary and secondary schools, libraries, museums and other educational institutions. This partnership extends new technologies, applications and rich, interactive educational content to everyone—no matter where they’re located.

"Richard deeply understood how advanced networking could revolutionize learning. His energetic and thoughtful leadership continues to inspire the Internet2 K20 community," said James Werle, director of the Internet2 K20 Initiative.

The Rose Award celebrates educators or technologists who have had a demonstrable impact on the K20 community through the bringing together of diverse communities around common goals and projects, and have accumulated a record of community accomplishments. The award also presents an important opportunity to recognize the achievements of leaders across all educational sectors that are working hard to ensure that students of all ages and locations have access to the most advanced networking resources available.

The awards judging committee includes James Werle, director of the Internet2 K20 Initiative; David Lassner, vice president and chief information officer of the University of Hawaii and Richard Rose Award Recipient; Carol Willis, manager of the Texas Education Telecommunications Network and Richard Rose Award Recipient; Jennifer Oxenford, Web and Public Relations Manager, Mid-Atlantic Gigapop in Philadelphia for Internet2 (MAGPI) and Richard Rose Award Recipient; and Randy Stout, Research and Development Coordinator for the Kansas Board of Regents, Kan-Ed and Richard Rose Award Recipient. Stout will chair this year’s awards committee.

Visit the Richard Rose Award page for nomination details and more information.

For media assistance, contact Todd Sedmak at 202-331-5373 or


Visit our website:
Follow us on Twitter:
Become a Fan on Facebook:

Previous article: 12 Tech Innovators