Internet2

close
Use Internet2 SiteID

Already have an Internet2 SiteID?
Sign in here.

Internet2 SiteID

Blogs

Security Scene Blog: September Edition

Sep 08, 2020, by Adair Thaxton
Tags: Security, Security Scene

The Unified Network Services Security Team (security team) works closely with the Internet2 leadership to proactively manage security risks that jeopardize the national Internet2 R&E backbone network. The security team supports the Internet2 mission by assuring the availability, integrity, and appropriate confidentiality of the network infrastructure, operational support systems, and the information carried, ensuring its safe and resilient use by our members. The Security Scene blog series aims to inform you about these topics.
 
It's September, people. I always think September will be cooler than August was, and I'm always bitterly disappointed.
 
At the end of last month, there was another route hijack. It began by primarily affecting Rogers prefixes in Canada, for about four minutes, but then progressed to affecting Rogers, Charter, and TWC prefixes for almost an hour. The author suggests that this behavior is similar to what we've seen in the past when a BGP optimizer starts causing problems. One of the upstreams during this attack was Telia, who we've praised for dropping RPKI invalids, but all prefixes announced were RPKI unknown and there didn't seem to be any prefix filters in place that would have prevented the propagation of this attack. A good reminder that routing security is about more than just RPKI and ROAs!
 
For my random security link, I know you all look forward to it. Researchers found that by having physical access to place a microphone or smartphone near your door, they can recreate the shape of your key by hearing the clicks it makes when it's inserted. Like a lot of attacks requiring physical access, it would be difficult to widely weaponize, but it's still neat!
 
The four of you who took my survey last month voted unanimously that I should keep having surveys, so here you go! It's just a fun survey, no hard questions, so I'm hoping maybe this month I can get five responses? 

Remember, our working group meeting is Wednesday, Sept. 16 at 4 p.m. ET, 3 p.m. CT, 2 p.m. MT, 1 p.m. PT, and that's where I stop listing timezones. I hope to see you there!