Internet2

close
Use Internet2 SiteID

Already have an Internet2 SiteID?
Sign in here.

Internet2 SiteID

Blogs

I2 Online Virtual Event: Building a Cloud Assessment Scorecard — August 26th

Jul 30, 2020, by Sean O'Brien
Tags: Cloud Computing, Cloud Services & Applications, Frontpage News, Internet2 NET+

Internet2 and the Cloud Scorecard Working Group are excited to share details of our year-long effort to develop a community-led framework for cloud service review. Register now to attend a virtual session on August 26th at 2 p.m. ET/1 p.m. CT/11 a.m. PT to learn about the results of a community survey on cloud standards, present the scorecard concept, and share the next steps for the effort.

The ongoing growth of cloud applications and services presents research and education (R&E) institutions options to both leverage web-scale compute and storage as well as the choice of applications to meet specific needs for faculty, staff, and students. With the sheer number of services available, R&E institutions may leverage community programs to assist in the evaluation and procurement of such services. 

Based on community feedback, Internet2 formed a cloud scorecard working group in 2019 to explore how to leverage the standards that have been developed and utilized in the NET+ program to assess and report on compliance of various cloud services. As this group's work comes to a close, we are pleased to share with the broader community what we learned and summarize the next steps.

For more, register now for the Building a Cloud Assessment Scorecard virtual event on August 26.