Internet2

close
Use Internet2 SiteID

Already have an Internet2 SiteID?
Sign in here.

Internet2 SiteID

Blogs

Supporting Students Through Distance Learning: Internet2 Collaboration with National Archives a Major Success

Apr 30, 2020, by Therese Perlowski
Tags: Community Anchor Program, Distance Learning, Frontpage News

In the past 30 days, over 3,000 students have participated in free, standards-based distance learning programs as result of the collaboration between the Presidential Primary Sources Project, the U.S. National Archives, and several presidential libraries. 

When schools across the country shuttered as a result of COVID-19, the National Archives reached out to the Internet2 Community Anchor Program (CAP) to expand its Presidential Primary Sources Project and provide interactive distance learning opportunities for homebound students. 

The collaboration has produced 19 additional sessions for students on topics ranging from the space shuttle Challenger, to the Titanic, and the Constitution. The sessions allow students from preschool through grade 12 to interact directly with experts from presidential libraries and the National Archives through either the Zoom platform or Facebook Live. Sessions are planned to continue through the end of May 2020.

Sign up for one or more of these upcoming distance learning programs for students and families:

  • April 30: The Space Shuttle Challenger (Grades 8-12)
  • May 5: Dear Mr. President (Grades 3-8)
  • May 7: Victory Gardens: No Sacrifice Too Small (Grades 6-8)
  • May 12: Candy Bomber and the Berlin Airlift (Grades 3-8)
  • May 14: President Reagan and the Cold War (Grades 11-12)
  • May 19: The Constitution at Work: Elementary Edition (Grades 4-6)
  • May 21: The Constitution at Work: Middle and High School Edition (Grades 7-12)
  • May 26: I is for Ike (Grades K-2)
  • May 28: Presidential Reading Program (Preschool-3rd grade)

All programs will take place at 2 p.m. ET | 1 p.m. CT | 12 pm MT | 11 a.m. PT. Individual students and families can log in using the link that will be provided following registration.

Sessions will also be live-streamed from the Presidential Primary Sources Project Facebook page.

Find more information about each program on the National Archives website.