Internet2

close
Use Internet2 SiteID

Already have an Internet2 SiteID?
Sign in here.

Internet2 SiteID

Blogs

Tales from the Cloud: Real-world Experience Moving IdM to the Cloud at Illinois

Aug 27, 2019, by Dean Woodbeck
Tags: InCommon, Recent Posts, Trust & Identity

September 2019 IAM Online

Tales from the Cloud: Real-world Experience Moving IdM to the Cloud at Illinois

Wednesday, September 11, 2019 2 pm ET / 1 pm CT / Noon MT / 11 am PT

 

Are you considering moving some or all of your identity management infrastructure to the cloud? Want to know more about using containerized software? 

Learn how Illinois chose their path to leverage “the cloud” and their “cloud-first” strategy. The implementation team at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign will share their path to deployment of access management software in the cloud. What started as a Grouper product evaluation led to adapting the InCommon Trusted Access Platform into a continuous integration and continuous development "DevOps" process using low- or no-cost open-source tools. 

Hear about the successful deployment of Grouper and planned migration of the  Shibboleth IdP infrastructure to Docker containers in AWS using the Elastic Container Service "Fargate." This presentation revisits our popular presentation and demo at the 2018 Internet2 Global Summit as an update of sorts with our current state of affairs.
 
Presenters
Erik Coleman, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Keith Wessel, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Connecting
Slide sharing and audio: https://internet2.zoom.us/j/886598327
By phone: Dial (US): (669) 900-6833 or (646) 558-8656
Webinar ID: 886 598 327
International numbers available: https://zoom.us/u/bKX4teTZh

About IAM Online
IAM Online is a monthly online education series brought to you by InCommon and the EDUCAUSE Higher Education Information Security Council (HEISC).