Internet2

close
Use Internet2 SiteID

Already have an Internet2 SiteID?
Sign in here.

Internet2 SiteID

Blogs

InCommon Forum Webinar: Rolling Out a New Metadata Service

Jun 24, 2019, by Nicholas Roy
Tags: InCommon, InCommon Participant, Trust & Identity

We’re Moving Your Metadata, But Not Your Cheese: Making Federation Metadata Scalable and Sustainable for the Next Decade


InCommon Forum Webinar: Wednesday, July 10, 2019
2 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. CT / Noon MT / 11 a.m. PT
​​​​​​​https://www.incommon.org/academy/incommon-forum/

InCommon moves its new metadata service into production on July 9 (as a release candidate for early adoption). This new service – called per-entity metadata or metadata query (MDQ) – will significantly reduce resource utilization on participants’ federation deployments by providing a new way to retrieve metadata. We will discuss using the new service on this InCommon Forum webinar July 10 at 2 p.m. ET.

Identity Providers and Service Providers no longer have to download and pre-load the entire federation metadata aggregate at system start up. Not quite ready to make that shift yet? The current metadata aggregates will remain available. The new InCommon metadata service is secure, scalable, highly reliable, and has excellent performance. More information and documentation is on the Metadata Service Documentation wiki. 

We invite you to join us for the July 10 webinar. Staff from the InCommon operations team will review the basics of the new service, how you can leverage it to streamline your own federation integrations, our timeline for retiring the old metadata service, and future opportunities. We will also answer service-related questions from the audience.

Speakers: 

  • Nick Roy, Director of Technology and Strategy, InCommon
  • Albert Wu, Federation Service Manager, InCommon

Connect via Zoom: