Use Internet2 SiteID

Already have an Internet2 SiteID?
Sign in here.

Internet2 SiteID


Internet2 Issues Call for 2018 Richard Rose Award Nominees

Mar 08, 2018, by James Werle
Tags: 2018 Internet2 Global Summit, Community Anchor Program, Frontpage News, Richard Rose Award

The Richard Rose Award, established in 2009, recognizes extraordinary individual efforts to extend the benefits of advanced networking to the broadest range of formal and informal education communities, including K-12 schools, community colleges, public libraries, museums, and other cultural, artistic, historic, and scientific organizations. Each year, the Rose Award honors an individual with a history of extending advanced networking, content, and services to a wide array of institutions and constituents; a leader with strong mentoring qualities and the capacity to bring together diverse communities around common goals and projects; an individual with an accumulated record of accomplishments that increase teaching, learning, and other life-improving opportunities for all across the broader Internet2 community. The recipient will be recognized during a plenary session at the Internet2 2018 Global Summit May 6-9 in San Diego, California.

Richard Rose (1947-2007) was an early leader in the National Internet2 K20 Initiative, now part of Internet2's U.S. UCAN program. As executive director of the University of Maryland Academic Telecommunications System (UMATS) and the University System of Maryland (USM) Office of Information Technology, he was an indefatigable advocate for extending the benefits of advanced networking to students at all levels—in both formal and information education— to broaden and deepen opportunities in learning, scholarship, and science. Rose's energetic and thoughtful leadership continues to inspire colleagues from around the country who share his dedication to this important mission.

The Richard Rose Award selection committee consists of past award recipients including Carol Willis, manager emeritus, Texas Education Telecommunications Network (TETN);  David Lassner, president, University of Hawaii; Louis Fox, president and chief executive officer, CENIC; Jennifer Oxenford, director, community engagement, KINBER; Randy Stout, research funding administration, University of Kansas Medical Center; Jim Dolgonas, president and chief executive officer emeritus, CENIC; Pat Burns, dean of libraries & VP for IT, Colorado State University; Larry Gallery, manager, membership development, NYSERNet; Rob Semper, executive associate director, Exploratorium; Susan Hildreth, professor of practice, Information School, University of Washington; and Bill Mitchell, executive director emeritus, Great Plains Network (GPN). James Werle, executive director, U.S. UCAN Program, chairs the award committee.

The nomination submission deadline is Wednesday, April 11, 2018. Please submit your nominations to James Werle, Additional details on the award and nomination criteria can be found at the Richard Rose Award webpage. Please don’t hesitate to get in touch if you have any questions.